Sessions of the Parliament are held twice a year with an interval of six months.

Budget Session: March

General Session: September

When the Parliament is not in session, there is a Standing Committee of 11 members including the Speaker and Deputy Speaker; two from each of the provinces and one from each of the religious denominations. The members are divided into three sections: Political, Administrative and Gyundrel (Finance). The Standing Committee attends office fulltime and is involved in the routine works concerned with the Parliament such as analysing the political situation inside Tibet, reviewing the annual report and audit of the departments, and sanctioning interim budgets etc.