Transition in the members of the 16th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile’s Standing Committee

Dharamsala : Today the 16th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile welcomed new members for its Fourth Standing Committee from Gelug Sect, Dhotoe, and Domey provinces as the new Standing Committee commenced with the respective allocation of the members into different sections and responsibilities.

Members of the third Standing Committee of the 16th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile, Mrs. Juchen Kunchok Chodon and Mr. Ngawang Tharpa Gewatsang from Dhotoe province are replaced by Mrs. Youdon Aukatsang and Mr. Lobsang Dakpa respectively. While Geshe Lharampa Atuk Tseten from Gelug Sect is replaced by Geshe Lharampa Gowo Lobsang Phende. Mrs. Tsering Lhamo replaces Mr. Karma Gelek from Dhomey province, while the rest of the members of the fourth Standing Committee remained same in the new committee.

At 10:30 am in the Library cum Conference Hall, the new members of the fourth Standing Committee of the 16th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile were greeted and welcomed by Speaker Pema Jungney.

As per Clause VI of the Standing Committee’s rules and regulation under the Rules and Regulation of Central Tibetan Administration, the newly commenced Standing Committee members were allocated into the respective three sections for the duration of one year from June 1, 2019 to May 31, 2020 as follows:

I.  Gyundrel Deytsen :

  1. Khenpo Kada Ngedup Sonam
  2. Lobsang Dakpa

II.  Chabsi Deytsen :

  1. Geshe Monlam Tharchin
  2. Youdon Aukatsang
  3. Tenpa Yarphel
  4. Geshe Lharampa Gowo Lobsang Phende
  5. Tsering Lhamo

III. Zinkyong Tokship Deytsen :

  1. Khenpo Sonam Tenphel
  2.  Tsaneytsang Dhondup Tashi